Item TheMusicSack Annotation
Home People Books Bands Churches Pianists Theatres Help

The descriptive note comes from item 607 in :


Henderson, Alice H.
Henderson, Donald Gene
Carl Maria von Weber : a guide to research
New York: Garland, 1990, 385 p.

This is what Donald Gene Henderson had to say:

Surveys the distortions and inaccuracies in the available editions of Weber's six major works for clarinet. Reports on her new Urtext edition, which draws from the original manuscripts and includes all important cadenzas that have been written for the two clarinet concertos and the Concertino. Uncovers interesting aspects of performance practice. Demonstrates that the GRAND DUO CONCERTANT was not written for the virtuoso Hermstedt. The six works are published by Fantone Music Ltd. (Corby Northant, EAgland). Published separately, each contains a short editorial foreword, Weber's original clarinet part placed above the edited version, piano reductions for the clarinet concertos and Concertino, suggested cadenzas, and performing parts.

© Donald Gene Henderson
(c) 2020. Frank Greene. All rights reserved.